Home > Big Picture > Happy New Year! The Well-Dressed Headphone Addict’s 2011 Itinerary

Happy New Year! The Well-Dressed Headphone Addict’s 2011 Itinerary

Happy New Year to all readers and followers of the Well-Dressed Headphone Addict. 2010 was a groundbreaking year for myself – Matthew Allen.  I launched this blog (formerly known as Brooklyn By Way of Syracuse), contributed to the BRIC Wall blog, became published in Wax Poetics Magazine, and had my first feature article published as a cover story in Elmore Magazine.  As for my blog, it had a modest start, but lots of strides have been made: the quotes and picture pages, a twitter account and the division of blog segments have all given W.D.H.A. a level of sophistication I’ve been looking for.  Most importantly, I’ve covered the events, topics and issues that I wanted to and composed them in a manner that I feel is befitting to the high quality of writing I’ve been striving to achieve.  This year, I’ll be incorporating new aspects to the blog to extend its outreach.   So here’s a preview of things to look forward to from the Well-Dressed Headphone Addict:

1) New Categories: “Interviews” & “I Know I’m Late”- The first one on one will feature jazz tabla legend Badal Roy, who’s played with Miles Davis, John McLaughlin, Ornette Coleman, Mike Clark and Lonnie Smith to name a few.  In addition, possible future interviews might include music documentary director Robert Mugge, Living Colour guitarist Vernon Reid and Head Hunters percussionist Bill Summers (*crossing fingers*).  “I Know I’m Late” will be a segment that will highlight artists, albums and events that have been around for some time, yet somehow escaped my usually observant eyes and ears.

2) Reviews of Hotly Anticipated Albums – The year 2011 looks to have some amazing releases in the early months, and I intend to listen to and critique them.  Among those new albums include Adele’s 21, Raphael Saadiq’s Stone Rollin’, Lupe Fiasco’s Lasers and Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi’s Rome.

3) New Facebook Page – Since its inception, the blog has been automatically posting to my personal Facebook page and my twitter account.  I will be looking to create an independent Facebook page dedicated solely for the presentation and marketing of the blog and any other appropriate posting of music, events, previews and discussion boards.

4) New Video Blog – I have begun the preliminary stages of planning, scripting and shooting of the Well-Dressed Headphone Addict video blog (vlog).  The vlog, while starting in modest format, will be a reinforcement of the printed blog and a method to get the viewers involved with musical discussion and journalistic participation.

Will all of these things come to fruition, only time will tell.  But until I wrote them done, they were just dreams.  Now that there are in print, I consider them goals.  So, here we go.

Categories: Big Picture
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

